Street Date: 
Tuesday, July 21, 2009


  1. Twelve Tone
  2. White Out
  3. Old Man
  4. Holy Ghost Girl Games
  5. Firetime
  6. Unbelievable Amounts
  7. Envelope
  8. Safe In Sound

Big Nun


Mad Gregs is the Los Angeles based collaborative musical effort of Jason Golday, Lewis Keller, Devin McNulty, and John Wood, all of whom share song-writing and singing responsibilities to form one eclectic voice. Often in four-part harmony and with diverse instrumentation (including bass clarinet, harmonica, plastic whirlies, and miniature drumming robots), the band creates a pleasantly palatable yet extremely unique sound, culling descriptions as welcome as "chamber pop" and "the post-modern Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young," and as inaccurate as "the Beach Boys on acid" (considering that the Beach Boys were on acid and Mad Gregs generally are not).

Over the last 7 or so years, the members of Mad Gregs have been part of a larger musical community based around the now defunct California Institute of the Arts derived DIY Pop label Ballbearings PiƱatas. This large but tight knit group of musicians has been known to contribute to each others' projects and has most notably been linked to releases with Ariel Pink, R.Stevie Moore, Spencer Owen, as well as members of The Mae Shi among others. Mad Gregs was formed out of this group of friends as a natural extension of these numerous under-the-radar collective projects.

Their debut album "Big Nun" was recorded in between East and West Coast tours with Anni Rossi in 2007. The album closely captures the subtleties of Mad Gregs' wonderfully nuanced, self proclaimed "quietish" performances. Though all four songwriters contribute their individual details and styles, the final outcome is an undeniably cohesive, meticulously arranged collection of eight tunes. Many will undoubtedly try, but it's hard to link the sounds on "Big Nun" to any direct influence. This is original song writing at its finest.