Street Date: 
Friday, June 16, 2017


  1. Row Boat
  2. Moonlight Mania
  3. Invisible Ink
  4. American Expre$$ (feat. Paranoid Castle)
  5. The Bay (Stay Awayy)
  6. Young Franchise
  7. Must Say (feat. Ceschi)
  8. The Evolution Of
  9. Microchip
  10. 100,000 Lakes
  11. Old Sea
  12. Throwing Quarters Into Water

7 Vessels


When Kay the Aquanaut says, “the American dream is a nightmare… and the nightmare is everywhere,” on the track American Expre$$ from his latest collaboration, 7 Vessels, with producer Factor Chandelier, it resonates in a way that is particularly salient in these uneasy times. But despite this nightmare, 7 Vessels provides a life raft in the midst of a sea of disingenuousness. 7 Vessels is Kay and Factor Chandelier’s sixth album together and the culmination of their long-running collaborative relationship. The result is a work that incorporates Factor Chandelier’s signature meticulous production work seamlessly with Kay’s thought-provoking lyrics. Chandelier, known for sample-free beats and live instrumentation, creates a soundscape that is so sophisticated that it reveals something new on each listen. On his tenth release, Kay has solidified his reputation as a captivating songwriter and fresh voice. The sharp social commentary combined with the intricate and multi-layered production gives 7 Vessels a power and authenticity that is rare. And despite the political slant of the album, 7 Vessels is still a smooth, sailboat deck at sunset journey through waves of moods. With appearances by Ceschi and Paranoid Castle, the album creates a sense of community weaving together different voices. So when Kay the Aquanaut repeats, “you are not alone,” on Invisible Ink, the listener can’t help but believe him. 7 Vessels does what all great art should— it speaks to our current time and place while providing much-needed comfort.